About the Building Board

*Note: During the 2022 Legislative Session, the Governor's transition plan was implemented in SB 82 which eliminated the State Building Board and gave the duties of the board to the DFCM and the Department of Government Operations. Effective May 4, 2022
S.B. 82 State Facilities Management Amendments
The Utah State Building Board is comprised of eight members, seven of which are private citizens appointed by the Governor. The eighth member, a designee, is the Director of the Governor’s Office of Management and Budget, and serves as the ex-officio representative of the Governor. The members of the board are as follows: Joe Burgess (chair), Lisa Barrager, William French, Stan Plewe, Kevin VanTassell, Wendell Morse, Richard Fairbanks, and Kristin Cox or Miranda Jones, as ex-officio representatives.

The Building Board is a rulemaking policy board, responsible for ensuring that the State of Utah’s capital facilities programs are efficiently managed and effectively implemented, and that state agencies and institutions are in compliance with the State Building Board Facility Maintenance Standards as well as other rules and policies established for the purpose of effectively managing the state buildings. The Building Board cooperates with state institutions, departments, and agencies in meeting the mandate to provide quality facilities in a timely and cost-effective manner.